Sport Awards

Team Canada at the 2019 Winter Deaflympics Opening Ceremony in Italy.

The CDSA Sport Awards

The CDSA Sport Awards are given at every Deaflympic cycle (summer or winter) every two years to athletes and national teams, who made an important contribution to Deaf sports in Canada.

2018-2020 Sport Awards

2016-2018 Sport Awards

Winners of the CDSA Sport Awards

Best Male Athlete 

Year Winner Province Sport
2018-2020 Massimo Luciani Ontario Ice Hockey
2016-2018 Dale Proctor British Columbia Golf and Curling

Best Female Athlete

Year Winner Province Sport
2018-2020 Sasha Laoun Quebec Golf
2016-2018 Julia Wolff Ontario Volleyball

Best National Team

Year Winner
2018-2020 Team Canada Men’s Basketball

Winner of the USA Deaf Championship, division 2 in Indianapolis, USA – April 2019

2016-2018 Team Canada Women’s Ice Hockey

First participation in its history at the 2017 World Championships in Amherst, USA

Winners of the Sport Awards 2008-2016

The CDSA’s Hall of Fame

The Canadian Deaf Sports Association’s Hall of Fame was established in 2017 to recognize and honour athletes, teams and founders who achieved outstanding success and contributed to the advancement of deaf sports. The nomination and announcement process takes between two to three years.

Submit a nomination

2018 Inductee

Robert Martin Cundy — an athlete and builder is the CDSA Hall of Fame inductee for 2018.

His Accomplishments as a builder

  • World Deaf Golf Federation
  • Canadian Deaf Golf Association
  • Alberta Deaf Golf Club

His accomplishments as athlete

Two sports : tennis and golf

  • 12 international participations with Team Canada
  • Two Summer Deaflympics and 10 World Deaf Golf Championships (WDGC)
  • Seven top 8 in his 12 international participations