Board of Directors / Committees

Board of Directors

Board members ensure the proper functioning of the organization and guide strategic orientations. They supervise the work of the permanent executive director.

Following the annual general meeting of members on June 5, 2021, the directors were reappointed:

  • Donald Prong (Ontario), President
  • David Joseph (Quebec), Treasurer
  • Francis Roussel (Quebec), Director
  • Shawna Joynt (Manitoba), Director
  • Nyla Kurylowich (Alberta), Director
  • Erin Ramsay (Alberta), Female Athlete Representative (*)
  • John Gessner (Manitoba), Male Athlete Representative (*)
  • Lois McIntyre (Ontario), Team Managers and Coaches Représentative(*)

(*) These members participate in Board meetings and can express their opinions, but have no voting rights.

The CDSC currently has four standing committees to ensure that there is progress in specific fields and enable the board to guide the general management of the organization. These committees are:

  • Finance committee
  • Governance committee; and
  • Human resources committee

Mandate of Standing Committees

The CDSA has established the mandate of each committee and a policy on this. Read the policy.

Standing Committee Members

Following the 2020 Annual General Meeting on September 19, 2020, the members’ mandates for each committee were renewed and approved during the first Board of Directors meeting on November 7, 2020.


  • David Joseph (Quebec) 1 & 2
  • Jonathan Guinta (Alberta)
  • Douglas Hugill (B.C.)
  • Grant Underschultz (Alberta)


  • Nyla Kurylowich 2
  • Donald Prong 1 & 2
  • Francis Roussel 2
  • Darryl Hackett

Human Resources

  • Donald Prong 1 & 2
  • Shawna Joynt 2
  • David  Joseph 2
  • Francis Roussel 2

1 Committee president
2 CDSA Board member