Category: National Teams

(Click on the picture)

The 2007 Winter Deaflympics in Salt Lake City in the United States was the first time that curling was featured at the Deaflympics. Both national teams won the honours at these prestigious Games.

(left to right)
Tiffany Odegard – coach
Judy Robertson – skip
Lynda Taylor – third
Roberta (Debbie) Sutton – second
Sally Korol – lead
Sherry Dunkley (Clark) – 5th
Rita Bomak – manager

Men (left to right)
Denise Hoekstra – coach
Michael Raby – skip
André Guillemette – third
Damian Hum – second
David Joseph – lead
John Gessner – 5th
Rita Bomak – manager

At the Third World Deaf Curling Championship in Sochi, Russia in 2017, the Men’s Team accomplished an outstanding feat with a perfect record of 11 wins. Team Canada members elegantly won the World Championship.

Left to right:
Resby Coutts, Vice President of Curling Canada,
John Gessner (MB)
Shawn Demianyk (MB)
Ross LaVallee (MB)
Kayle Miller (MB)
Joe Comte (fan)
Rita Bomak, CDSA Board of Directors
Dave Morton (ON), curling player (not pictured)

*Please note: This is a non-exhaustive list of national personalities and teams. The CDSA does not necessarily feature the names of the most outstanding figures in the history of Canadian Deaf Curling at the top of its list. Other national figures and teams will be unveiled at other CDSA events in the years ahead. Thank you for your attention.